Our Institutions

The Kolenchery Church had been the source and foundation of many institutions in the locality.


Murimattathil Bava was an educationist. When he was a priest he taught many deacons in Kolenchery Church, he started a Malayalam school in front of the church. Later it was handed over to the Government later on.


In 1930 Fr. Gheevarghese Thenungal started a middle school with the inspiration from Murimattathil Bava. He named the school as St Peters middle school. By 1937 it became higher secondary school. The Foundation stone was laid by British political agent C P Screne. Fr. Gheevarghese Thenungal became the first manager of the school.then came Shri C U Varkey of Nechupadam as the manager. After the unity in malankara church on 1958 ,Parish council elected Shri PM Paily Pillai as the manager of the school.

With the god’s grace we could start VHSE, together with the higher secondary school. Now Rev Fr C M Kuriakose Chollatu got elected as School Manager and the school is now functioning in a smooth and systematic way. Now more than 1500 students are studying in this school.


Teachers Training School started in 1963 and the man behind this achievement was also Shri. P M Paily PIllai. Later attached to higher secondary school, Vocational Higher Secondary and B-ed College. Shri P M Paily pillai had been the chairman of the school for nearly forty years.

Fr. Kuriakose Chollattu (School Manager)


After 1958, with the unity in malankara, Malankara church wanted to start a hospital with modern treatment facilities and put that for discussion in the managing committee. Then H.H Gheevarghese II catholicos announced that if any church is willing ti donate 10 Acres of land, the hospital will start there. Mr chacko pillai who was also a member of the managing commmittee gladly agreed to donate 10 acres of land. The parishoners of kolenchery by their joint efforts purchased 50 acres of land and thus the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church Medical Mission Hospital was started Rev. Fr Paul Varghese (later H.G Paulose Mar Gregoriose) Rev Fr. K Philiposse and Dr Chacko George came to kolenchery often and gave the leadership.

The activities of the Mission were initiated by establishing a hospital in Kolenchery. H.H Ignatius Yakkoob III, Patriarch of Antioch, laid the foundation stone on June 17, 1967, in memory of H.H. Baselious Geeverghese II, Catholicose of the East and the Malankara Metropolitan. The Medical Mission Hospital was formally consecrated on September 14, 1970, by H.H Baselious Augen I.

The administration is by the ‘Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church Medical Mission Association’ of which the Catholicos is the permanent president; the bishop of Kandanad is the permanent vice president.

Sri M Chacko Pillai and Cheria Pathrose were its founder secretary and treasurer respectively. Dr Mammen Cherian was the founder Director. In 2002 it became a medical college. Our church has its representative in Governing Body and Executive Committee.

The community health department of the Mission takes the facilities of the hospital into the community, through a network of peripheral health centers, resident nurses, health volunteers and local coordinating bodies.

The Mission also plays a vital role in the comprehensive development of the local community, through income generation programmes and health promotion activities.


When the construction of church was completed, the people of parish began to think about higher education in kolenchery. It was when the Government was sanctioning Junior Colleges. The Church decided to apply for one. And the junior college was sanctioned. The Church donated money and its properties for the college. The church hall and rooms were given for the students and teachers to stay.

In 1964 itself “ St peter’s college trust” was registered .The College is managed by the St. Peter’s College Trust, Kolenchery, which is registered under the Cochin Registration of Literary, Scientific and Charitable Societies Act 1088( S. No. ER 38 of 1964). His Highness the Catholicos of the East is the Patron of the Trust. The founder chairman was sri. C P Issac, Secretary Sri. P M Paily pillai and Tresurer Sri. C V Jacob. Rev Fr. V M Gheevarghese was its first Principal. Today the St Peters College has grown with many degree courses and P.G courses. The Church has five elected representatives in the Governing Body of the College Trust.

The college at present has student strength of 1560. There are 103 members on the Teaching Staff and 48 members on the Non-teaching staff.

Rev. Fr. V.M. GEEVARGHESE, M.A. 1964-1971
Prof. K. C. PETER, M.A. 1971-1973
Prof. K. K. GEORGE, M.Sc., A.I.E. (London) 1973-1987
Prof. P. C. DAVID, M.Sc. 1987-1990
Prof. T. K. JOSHUA, M.Sc. 1990-1995
Prof. M.Y. YOHANNAN, M.A., B. Ed. 1995-1997
Prof. K. I. MATHEW, M.Com. 1997-2000
Prof. (Dr.) M. P. MATHAI, M.A., Ph.D. 2000-2002
Prof. JOY C. GEORGE, M.A., M. Phil. 2002 – 2010
Prof . Joy K Paul , M. A , M.Phil 2010 – 2012
Dr. Thampy Abraham ( Msc Phd) 2012 onwards